Baker Hughes never drew its $14.9bn bridge for Chart

Baker Hughes committed to a $14.9bn bridge loan for Chart Industries in July 2025 and terminated it unused in March 2026. What actually paid for the deal.

Published Data as of Aug 28, 2026Sources 8By Yu Han

BKRGTLS

In short

Baker Hughes closed its $210-a-share purchase of Chart Industries on 16 July 2026. The $14.9bn bridge loan it committed to a year earlier funded none of it.

Means
Permanent money replaced the bridge in stages — $6.5bn and €3.0bn of notes in March, then $2.0bn of two-year term loans drawn at closing. The bridge commitments were cancelled in March.
Market
No share prices appear here. The dated facts are the filings: $11.0bn of bridge commitments terminated on 11 March, a $2.6bn term loan terminated on 16 July with no penalty.
Watch
The third-quarter 10-Q. The $2.0bn drawn on 15 July lands there. Total debt was $16.253bn at 30 June, only $89m above 31 March.

On 11 March 2026, Baker Hughes cancelled a loan of up to $14.9 billion that it had spent eight months arranging and had never borrowed a dollar of.

Four months later the acquisition that loan existed to fund closed anyway. On 16 July 2026 Baker Hughes completed its purchase of Chart Industries, paying $210.00 in cash for every Chart share outstanding. The money came from somewhere else entirely.

This is the ordinary shape of a large acquisition financing, and almost none of it appears in the press releases. It appears across four 8-K filings spread over 353 days, and reading them in order shows something the announcement day could not: what the company committed to, what it actually used, and what the difference cost.

The financing, in the order it happened

Start with the sequence, because the sequence is the argument.

DateFilingWhat changed
28 Jul 20258-K, Item 1.01Merger agreement signed. Bridge commitment letter for up to $14.9bn, 364 days, from Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley
15 Aug 20258-K, Items 1.01 & 2.03$2.6bn delayed-draw term loan with Goldman Sachs as agent
11 Mar 20268-K, Items 1.01, 2.03 & 8.01$6.5bn and €3.0bn of senior notes issued. $11.0bn of bridge commitments terminated
15 Jul 20268-K, Items 1.01 & 2.03$2.0bn borrowed — $1.0bn from Bank of America, $1.0bn from UniCredit, two-year money
16 Jul 20268-K, Items 1.02 & 2.01Merger closes at $210.00 a share. The $2.6bn facility automatically terminates, no penalty

The bridge is the largest number in that table and the only one that never became cash. The closing 8-K names the sources of funds explicitly — “cash on hand, proceeds from the issuance of $6.5 billion and €3.0 billion senior notes on March 11, 2026 and borrowings under the Term Loan Credit Agreements” — and the bridge is not among them.

What $210 a share actually bought

Chart’s last published balance sheet is 31 March 2026. There is no second-quarter 10-Q, because the company filed a Form 15 on 29 July to deregister; a merged company stops reporting. So the arithmetic below uses the final numbers Chart ever filed.

Chart Industries at $210.00 a share

47,869,076 shares × $210.00 = $10.053bn equity consideration

  • total debt = $ 3.787bn − cash on hand = $ 0.269bn ───────── $13.570bn

Share count is the cover-page figure from Chart's 10-Q for the quarter ended 31 March 2026, outstanding at 7 May 2026. Debt and cash are from the same balance sheet. This is the site's calculation, not a figure disclosed in the merger filings, and it excludes the cash paid for options, restricted stock units and performance units.

Debt is 27.9% of that total. It is not incidental to the financing — the term loan 8-K says the $2.0 billion was borrowed to fund part of the consideration, to pay transaction fees, and “to repay Chart’s outstanding indebtedness.” Buying the equity was the smaller half of the cash requirement in the sense that mattered on the day: roughly $10.1 billion went to shareholders, and another $3.8 billion of borrowed money had to be retired on top of it.

A bridge is a promise you pay not to keep

The bridge facility is the part of this that most readers will never have seen written down, and it is worth being precise about what it is.

When a public company agrees to buy another for cash, it has to demonstrate on signing day that the cash exists. It rarely does yet. So banks commit to lend the whole purchase price on a short fuse — here a 364-day facility, the same sub-one-year structure that shows up across corporate credit for capital-rule reasons. Nobody wants the bridge to fund. It is expensive and it matures almost immediately. It exists so the merger agreement is credible while permanent financing is arranged.

The commitment letter says so in its own terms. It “contemplates that Baker Hughes will seek to obtain permanent financing in the form of senior unsecured debt securities and one or more tranches of senior unsecured term loans prior to the Closing, and that the commitments under the Bridge Facility will be reduced by the amount of any such permanent financing as well as the proceeds of certain asset sales.”

That reduction is visible in the numbers. The bridge was committed at $14.9 billion in July 2025. By 11 March 2026 the amount left to terminate was approximately $11.0 billion — $3.9 billion had already fallen away, and the $2.6 billion term loan signed three weeks after the merger agreement accounts for part of that. Then the bond sale settled and the remaining $11.0 billion went too.

Uber ran the same play this month on a smaller scale, and we took its $14.2 billion bridge apart when it was signed. The difference is that Baker Hughes’s story is now finished: we can see how the promise ended.

What a bridge gets replaced with is where the cost shows up, and it varies far more than the mechanics do. Baker Hughes ended at Term SOFR plus 100 to 125 basis points. The consortium that took Electronic Arts private nineteen days later ended at 7.250% secured and 8.750% unsecured — the same summer, a different kind of borrower.

The money landed in March and waited

Here is the part that a press release will not tell you. The notes settled on 11 March 2026. The merger closed on 16 July. For 127 days Baker Hughes held roughly ten billion dollars of borrowed cash it could not yet spend, paying coupons on all of it.

0$bn6$bn12$bn18$bnBefore the merger agreement was signed30 Jun 20253.087$bnBridge and delayed-draw facilities committed but undrawn30 Sep 20252.693$bnYear-end, three months before the notes31 Dec 20253.715$bnFirst balance sheet after the 11 March notes settled31 Mar 202614.764$bnTwo weeks before closing; the cash was paid out in Q330 Jun 202615.727$bn
Baker Hughes cash and equivalents at each quarter end. The March bond sale is the step. The company then carried the proceeds for four months until the acquisition closed in the following quarter.Source: Baker Hughes Forms 10-Q and 10-K, cash, cash equivalents and restricted cash as reported at each balance sheet date

Cash rose $11.049 billion between 31 December 2025 and 31 March 2026. Total debt rose $10.077 billion over the same quarter, from $6.087 billion to $16.164 billion. The two figures do not have to match and this article does not claim they do — operating cash flow moves the first and not the second, and carrying values are net of issuance costs. What they establish together is timing. The debt arrived in the March quarter; the acquisition it paid for did not close until the third.

At 30 June 2026 the company held cash worth 1.56 times the entire equity consideration it was about to pay.

What the replacement costs

The 16 July 8-K does something unusual: it describes the terms of the facility being terminated in the same document as the terms of the facilities replacing it. That makes a direct comparison possible, and the comparison is not flattering in one direction.

FacilityReference rateMarginEffective spread over Term SOFR
Goldman Sachs, terminated 16 Jul 2026Adjusted Term SOFR (Term SOFR + 10 bp)62.5–112.5 bp72.5–122.5 bp
UniCredit, $1.0bn, entered 15 Jul 2026Term SOFR62.5–112.5 bp62.5–112.5 bp
Bank of America, $1.0bn, entered 15 Jul 2026Term SOFR100.0–125.0 bp100.0–125.0 bp

The UniCredit loan carries the same margin grid as the terminated facility but without the 10 basis point credit spread adjustment, so it is 10 bp cheaper at every rating level.

The Bank of America loan is the other way. At the bottom of the pricing grid it sits 27.5 bp above what the terminated facility charged; at the top, 2.5 bp above. On $1.0 billion that is between $0.25 million and $2.75 million a year, depending where Baker Hughes’s senior unsecured ratings land. Both loans mature two years from funding, so the exposure runs to July 2028 unless refinanced.

Whether that is a good trade is not something the filings answer, and this article will not pretend otherwise. Splitting $2.0 billion across two agents rather than one buys something — capacity, relationship, execution certainty in a week when $2.0 billion had to be in place on a fixed date. The documents record the price of that choice without explaining it.

What this is not

  • The bridge fee is not disclosed. Committing $14.9 billion is not free — banks charge commitment, ticking and duration fees — but none of the four 8-Ks state what Baker Hughes paid for eight months of standby. That cost is real and this article cannot size it.
  • “Never drawn” is an inference from what the filings list, not a sentence they contain. The closing 8-K enumerates the sources of funds and the bridge is absent; the commitments were terminated four months before closing. That is strong, and it is still an inference.
  • The euro tranche is not converted. The notes were $6.5 billion and €3.0 billion. No exchange rate is applied anywhere in this article, so no combined proceeds figure appears.
  • The $13.570 billion is our arithmetic. No filing states an aggregate transaction value. The share count is a cover-page figure from 7 May 2026, and options, restricted stock units and performance units — all cashed out at $210.00 under the merger agreement — are excluded, so the true consideration is higher.
  • Whether the $2.6 billion facility was ever drawn is not stated. Total debt moved just $89 million between 31 March and 30 June 2026, so it had not landed on the reported balance sheet by then. The filings do not say more, and neither does this piece.
  • One date in the filings looks wrong. The 11 March 2026 8-K reads “Effective March 11, 2025, Baker Hughes Company terminated approximately $11.0 billion in commitments.” The report is dated 11 March 2026, the notes closed that day, and the commitment letter was not signed until July 2025. We read the year as a typographical error for 2026 and have used 2026 throughout. The quoted text is reproduced above exactly as filed.

Check it yourself

Every figure here sits in one of four Baker Hughes 8-Ks and two balance sheets, all linked in the sources. The $14.9 billion is in Item 1.01 of the 29 July 2025 filing under the heading “Debt Financing.” The $11.0 billion termination is in Item 8.01 of the 11 March 2026 filing. The $210.00, the $2.0 billion, the $2.6 billion and both pricing grids are in Items 1.01, 1.02, 2.01 and 2.03 of the 16 July 2026 filing.

The balance sheet figures come from Baker Hughes’s own XBRL tags rather than from a screener, which matters more than it sounds like it should — we have written about how the wrong document gets picked. The calculations and their numeric inputs are displayed in the “Calculations and inputs” section below.

No share prices appear in this article. That is deliberate: this is a financing story, and the financing is fully documented without one.

If a number here does not match a filing, tell us and it will be corrected on the article and on the corrections log, with the date.

Calculations and inputs

Match the inputs to the source tables cited in the article, then apply the expressions below. Ratios are shown as decimals; multiply by 100 for a percentage. Results are rounded.

Cash consideration for Chart's common shares, $bn · GTLS
47869076 * 210 / 1e9 ≈ 10.0525 · $bn
Chart's enterprise value at $210 a share, $bn · GTLS
(47869076 * 210 + 3786800000 - 269400000) / 1e9 ≈ 13.5699 · $bn
Chart's debt as a share of that enterprise value · GTLS
3786800000 / (47869076 * 210 + 3786800000 - 269400000) ≈ 0.27906 · ratio (×100 = %)
Bridge commitments terminated as a share of the original · BKR
11.0 / 14.9 ≈ 0.73826 · ratio (×100 = %)
Bridge commitments retired before March 2026, $bn · BKR
14.9 - 11.0 ≈ 3.9 · $bn
Term loans drawn at closing against the bridge committed, share · BKR
2.0 / 14.9 ≈ 0.13423 · ratio (×100 = %)
Baker Hughes cash, 31 Dec 2025 to 31 Mar 2026, $bn · BKR
(14764 - 3715) / 1000 ≈ 11.049 · $bn
Baker Hughes total debt, 31 Dec 2025 to 31 Mar 2026, $bn · BKR
(16164 - 6087) / 1000 ≈ 10.077 · $bn
Debt added in that quarter beyond the dollar notes tranche, $bn · BKR
(16164 - 6087) / 1000 - 6.5 ≈ 3.577 · $bn
Total debt change, 31 Mar to 30 Jun 2026, $m · BKR
16253 - 16164 ≈ 89 · $m
Cash at 30 June 2026 against the equity consideration · BKR
15727e6 / (47869076 * 210) ≈ 1.5645 · x
Days the notes proceeds sat before closing, 11 Mar to 16 Jul 2026 · BKR
127 ≈ 127 · days
Days from merger agreement to closing · BKR
353 ≈ 353 · days
Bank of America margin over Term SOFR, bottom of the grid, bp · BKR
100 - (62.5 + 10) ≈ 27.5 · bp
Bank of America margin over Term SOFR, top of the grid, bp · BKR
125 - (112.5 + 10) ≈ 2.5 · bp
UniCredit margin against the terminated facility, bp · BKR
62.5 - (62.5 + 10) ≈ -10 · bp
Annual cost of the wider margin on $1.0bn, bottom of the grid, $m · BKR
1000 * 27.5 / 10000 ≈ 2.75 · $m
Annual cost of the wider margin on $1.0bn, top of the grid, $m · BKR
1000 * 2.5 / 10000 ≈ 0.25 · $m
Baker Hughes shares outstanding at 23 July 2026, millions · BKR
992674071 / 1e6 ≈ 992.674 · m shares

Questions this answers

How did Baker Hughes pay for Chart Industries?
The closing 8-K states it funded the merger consideration with cash on hand, proceeds from $6.5 billion and €3.0 billion of senior notes issued on 11 March 2026, and borrowings under two term loan credit agreements. Baker Hughes borrowed $2.0 billion under those term loans on 15 July 2026 — $1.0 billion from a Bank of America facility and $1.0 billion from a UniCredit facility, both maturing two years from funding.
Was the $14.9 billion bridge loan ever drawn?
The filings show it was not used to fund the merger. Baker Hughes committed to a senior unsecured 364-day bridge facility of up to $14.9 billion on 28 July 2025. On 11 March 2026 it terminated approximately $11.0 billion of remaining commitments under that letter, four months before the deal closed, and the closing 8-K does not list the bridge among the sources of funds.
What did shareholders of Chart Industries receive?
Each share of Chart common stock outstanding at the effective time was converted into the right to receive $210.00 in cash, without interest and subject to withholding. Options in the money were cashed out for the spread, pre-signing restricted stock units were cashed out at $210.00, and units granted after the merger agreement were converted into Baker Hughes restricted stock units.
Is the replacement term loan cheaper than the facility it replaced?
Half of it is not. The terminated Goldman Sachs facility priced at Adjusted Term SOFR — Term SOFR plus a 10 bp credit spread adjustment — plus 62.5 to 112.5 bp. The new Bank of America facility prices at Term SOFR plus 100 to 125 bp, which is 27.5 bp wider at the bottom of the grid and 2.5 bp wider at the top. The UniCredit facility is 10 bp cheaper at both ends.
Where does the borrowing show up in Baker Hughes's accounts?
Not yet in the published statements. Total debt was $16.253 billion at 30 June 2026, $89 million above 31 March, so the $2.6 billion delayed-draw facility had not added to reported debt by then. The $2.0 billion borrowed on 15 July falls in the third quarter, which has not been filed as of 28 August 2026.

Verify this yourself

8 sources

The links below identify the filings, structured data, and other sources used in this article. Market data is labeled separately. Calculated figures use the inputs and expressions explained in the article; a source link alone does not independently verify every calculation.

  1. Baker Hughes Company — Form 8-K filed 29 July 2025Item 1.01 — merger agreement dated 28 July 2025 and the Bridge Commitment Letter with Goldman Sachs Bank USA, Goldman Sachs Lending Partners and Morgan Stanley Senior Funding for a senior unsecured 364-day bridge facility of up to $14.9 billion, reducible by permanent financing and asset sale proceedsOPEN ↗
  2. Baker Hughes Company — Form 8-K filed 18 August 2025Items 1.01 and 2.03 — the delayed draw term loan credit agreement dated 15 August 2025 with Goldman Sachs Bank USA as administrative agent, filed as Exhibit 10.1 and identified as such in the 16 July 2026 8-KOPEN ↗
  3. Baker Hughes Company — Form 8-K filed 11 March 2026Items 1.01, 2.03 and 8.01 — the senior notes issued 11 March 2026 and the termination of approximately $11.0 billion of bridge facility commitmentsOPEN ↗
  4. Baker Hughes Company — Form 8-K filed 16 July 2026Items 1.01, 1.02, 2.01 and 2.03 — the two term loan credit agreements and their pricing grids, the automatic termination of the $2.6 billion prior facility, the $210.00 merger consideration, and the sources of fundsOPEN ↗
  5. Baker Hughes Company — Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 June 2026Cash and equivalents of $15,727m and combined short- and long-term debt of $16,253m at 30 June 2026; 992,674,071 shares outstanding at 23 July 2026OPEN ↗
  6. Chart Industries, Inc. — Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 31 March 2026Chart's last quarterly balance sheet — cash and equivalents $267.9m, combined debt $3,786.8m, 47,869,076 shares outstanding at 7 May 2026OPEN ↗
  7. Chart Industries, Inc. — Form 8-K filed 16 July 2026Items 2.01, 3.01, 5.01 and 5.03 — completion of the merger, NYSE delisting notice and change in control, filed from Chart's sideOPEN ↗
  8. Chart Industries, Inc. — Form 15-12G filed 29 July 2026Deregistration — why no second-quarter 10-Q exists for Chart and why 31 March 2026 is the last balance sheet availableOPEN ↗

Data as of Aug 28, 2026 · figures may be restated by the issuer after this date

Found a number that doesn't match the filing?Confirmed corrections are published on the corrections log, with the date and what changed.

This article is for informational purposes only and is not investment advice. Sources and data dates are listed below; reported figures may be restated later. Verify independently before making any investment decision.