Alphabet borrowed $25bn. $10bn of it matures after 2045

Alphabet priced nine tranches out to a 6.500% bond due 2066. Its first-half interest expense was already up more than fivefold before any of this landed.

Published Updated Data as of Aug 24, 2026Sources 5By Yu Han

GOOGLAMD

In short

Alphabet priced $25.0bn of notes on 6 August in nine tranches, from floating-rate paper due 2028 to a 6.500% bond maturing in 2066. Ratings are Aa2 and AA+.

Means
The term structure is the disclosure. $10bn matures after 2045, which is a company funding something it expects to still be paying for in twenty years.
Market
Alphabet paid 5.450% for ten-year money. AMD, a weaker credit, paid 5.500% eleven days later. Long money is not cheap for anyone right now, whatever the rating.
Watch
Fixed coupons add $1,331m a year. Alphabet's first-half interest expense was $1,811m, already up more than fivefold, and half a year of this lifts it about 37%.

Somebody at Alphabet has decided the company will still be paying for this in 2066.

On 6 August it priced $25.0 billion of notes in nine tranches. The shortest is floating-rate paper maturing in 2028. The longest is a 6.500% bond due 15 August 2066 — forty years, at a company that had almost no debt three years ago.

The nine tranches

MaturityAmountCouponYieldSpread
2028 (floating)$0.75BSOFR + 0.44%——
2028$1.25B4.500%4.575%T + 33
2029 (floating)$0.50BSOFR + 0.60%——
2029$2.00B4.625%4.734%T + 43
2031$3.50B4.875%4.991%T + 60
2033$2.50B5.200%5.275%T + 75
2036$4.50B5.450%5.520%T + 85
2046$3.00B6.250%6.283%T + 105
2056$4.50B6.375%6.377%T + 115
2066$2.50B6.500%6.527%T + 130

Moody’s rates the notes Aa2; S&P rates them AA+. This is about as good as corporate credit gets, and the pricing shows it at the short end — 33 basis points over Treasuries for two-year money is close to free.

The long end is a different story. By 2066 the spread has widened to 130 basis points and the coupon is 6.500%.

Read the maturities, not the total

$25 billion is a headline. The distribution of it is the disclosure.

0B2.75B5.5B8.25B11B$0.75B + $1.25B + $0.50B + $2.00B2028-20294.5B$3.50B + $2.50B2031-20336B$4.50B at 5.450%20364.5B$3.00B + $4.50B + $2.50B2046-206610B
Alphabet's August 2026 offering by maturity bucket. Two fifths of the money does not come due until after 2045, which is a choice about how long the funding is expected to be needed.Source: pricing term sheet filed 6 August 2026

$10.0 billion — 40% of the offering — matures after 2045. A company borrowing for a two-year working capital need does not sell forty-year bonds. A company doing this is funding assets it expects to be running, and paying for, deep into the century.

The filings do not say what those assets are. Anyone who has read Alphabet’s cash flow statement lately can make a reasonable guess, and we are not going to make it for you in a sentence the document does not support.

What it costs

Annual coupon on the fixed-rate tranches

2028 $1,250M × 4.500% = $56.3M 2029 $2,000M × 4.625% = $92.5M 2031 $3,500M × 4.875% = $170.6M 2033 $2,500M × 5.200% = $130.0M 2036 $4,500M × 5.450% = $245.3M 2046 $3,000M × 6.250% = $187.5M 2056 $4,500M × 6.375% = $286.9M 2066 $2,500M × 6.500% = $162.5M ───────── $1,331.5M a year

Arithmetic on the eight fixed tranches from the pricing term sheet. Excludes the $1.25bn of floating-rate notes, which move with SOFR. Contractual coupon, not accounting interest expense.

The weighted average fixed coupon is 5.606%.

Now put that next to the number we published two days ago. In a panel of 1,519 listed non-financial companies, Alphabet was the single largest contributor to the rise in US corporate interest expense this year — from $295 million in the first half of 2025 to $1,811 million in the first half of 2026. That was already a 37.6-fold increase across four quarters: $34M, $261M, $533M, $1,278M.

What half a year of the new coupons does to that line

Reported, first half 2026 $1,811M Half a year of new coupons +$666M ──────── $2,477M → about 37% higher

Reported first-half interest expense plus half of the new fixed coupon. Arithmetic, not guidance — Alphabet may retire other debt, and the accounting figure differs from contractual coupon.

The comparison that should be uncomfortable

Eleven days after Alphabet priced, AMD sold $4.75 billion of notes including a 5.500% tranche due 2036.

0%1.5%3%4.5%6%$4.5B at 5.450%, rated Aa2 / AA+Alphabet 20365.45%$1.0B at 5.500%, eleven days laterAMD 20365.5%
Ten-year coupons from two filings eleven days apart. Alphabet is rated Aa2 and AA+; AMD is a materially weaker credit. The deals priced on different days, so some of the gap is Treasury movement rather than credit.Source: Alphabet pricing term sheet of 6 August 2026 and AMD Form 8-K of 17 August 2026

Five basis points. That is the difference between the two disclosed ten-year coupons.

We want to be careful here, because the honest version has a caveat. The two deals priced eleven days apart and Treasury yields moved in between, so the coupon gap is not a clean credit spread — Alphabet’s own spread to Treasuries was 85 basis points, and AMD’s 8-K does not disclose its spread. A proper comparison needs both spreads on the same day, and we do not have them.

Alphabet’s forty-year tranche carries a 6.500% coupon. Its maturity and pricing date differ from AMD’s ten-year tranche, so these coupons alone cannot measure the benefit of Alphabet’s credit rating.

Widen the frame past investment grade and the five basis points stop looking like the story. Three days after AMD, CoreWeave signed a secured term loan at Term SOFR plus 5.50% with a floating benchmark. The applicable Term SOFR fixing is not verified here, so no all-in rate is stated. Alphabet, AMD, Intel and CoreWeave announced financing within three weeks of each other, and the five instruments they used land in five different places on the financial statements.

What would make this wrong

  • Coupon is not interest expense. The notes priced below par, there are underwriting discounts of 0.125% to 0.600%, and accounting interest will run above the coupon. Our $1,331.5 million is contractual.
  • The $2,477 million figure is arithmetic, not guidance. It adds half a year of new coupons to a reported half-year figure and assumes nothing is retired.
  • We do not know what the money is for. The prospectus uses customary language. Any link to capital spending is an inference, and the connection is not stated in the document.
  • The AMD comparison is rough, for the reason given above. It is included because the raw numbers are striking, with the caveat attached rather than buried.
  • A long maturity is not a warning. Locking in forty-year funding at a fixed rate can be prudent, expensive, or both, and which one it turns out to be depends on rates nobody can call.
  • Ratings are the agencies’ opinions, quoted from the term sheet, not our assessment.

Check it yourself

Everything in the tranche table is on pages 2 to 5 of the pricing term sheet, linked below — amount, coupon, yield, spread, benchmark Treasury, offering price and underwriting discount for each of the nine tranches. The 8-K of 10 August records the closing. Alphabet’s quarterly interest expense is one API call.

The coupon arithmetic is in the article and can be redone in a minute.

If a figure here does not match a filing, tell us and it will be corrected on the article and on the corrections log, with the date.

Calculations and inputs

Match the inputs to the source tables cited in the article, then apply the expressions below. Ratios are shown as decimals; multiply by 100 for a percentage. Results are rounded.

Fixed-rate principal · GOOGL
1250 + 2000 + 3500 + 2500 + 4500 + 3000 + 4500 + 2500 ≈ 23750 · $m
Total offering including floating-rate notes · GOOGL
23750 + 750 + 500 ≈ 25000 · $m
Annual fixed coupon interest · GOOGL
1250*0.045 + 2000*0.04625 + 3500*0.04875 + 2500*0.052 + 4500*0.0545 + 3000*0.0625 + 4500*0.06375 + 2500*0.065 ≈ 1331.5 · $m
Weighted average fixed coupon · GOOGL
(1250*0.045 + 2000*0.04625 + 3500*0.04875 + 2500*0.052 + 4500*0.0545 + 3000*0.0625 + 4500*0.06375 + 2500*0.065) / 23750 ≈ 0.05606 · ratio (×100 = %)
Principal maturing after 2045 · GOOGL
3000 + 4500 + 2500 ≈ 10000 · $m
Share of the offering maturing after 2045 · GOOGL
(3000 + 4500 + 2500) / 25000 ≈ 0.4 · ratio (×100 = %)
Ten-year coupon gap against AMD
5.5 - 5.45 ≈ 0.05
Half a year of new fixed coupon · GOOGL
1331.5 / 2 ≈ 665.75 · $m
Implied first-half interest expense · GOOGL
1811 + 1331.5 / 2 ≈ 2476.75 · $m
Increase on the reported first half · GOOGL
(1811 + 1331.5 / 2) / 1811 - 1 ≈ 0.3676 · ratio (×100 = %)
Alphabet's own interest expense, four quarters · GOOGL
1278 / 34 ≈ 37.588 · x
Spread widening from the 2028 tranche to the 2066 tranche · GOOGL
130 - 33 ≈ 97 · bp

Questions this answers

How much did Alphabet borrow in August 2026?
$25.0 billion, priced on 6 August 2026 and settled on 10 August. It comprises $23.75 billion of fixed-rate notes across eight maturities from 2028 to 2066, plus $1.25 billion of floating-rate notes due 2028 and 2029 priced at compounded SOFR plus 0.44% and 0.60%.
What is the longest maturity in Alphabet's bond sale?
A $2.5 billion tranche of 6.500% notes due 15 August 2066, forty years out. It priced at 99.617 for a yield of 6.527%, a spread of 130 basis points over the benchmark Treasury. Together with the 2046 and 2056 tranches, $10.0 billion of the offering matures after 2045.
What will the new notes cost Alphabet each year?
$1,331 million in fixed coupon interest, which is arithmetic on the eight fixed tranches rather than a forecast, plus a floating amount on $1.25 billion that moves with SOFR. The weighted average fixed coupon is 5.606%.
How does Alphabet's pricing compare to AMD's?
For ten-year money the coupons were almost identical: Alphabet 5.450% on its 2036 notes, AMD 5.500% on its 2036 notes eleven days later. Alphabet is rated Aa2 by Moody's and AA+ by S&P. The two deals priced on different days, so Treasury moves are part of the gap, but five basis points is a narrow reward for a large difference in credit.
Why does Alphabet need to borrow when it is highly profitable?
The filings do not say. What they show is that Alphabet's interest expense rose from $295 million in the first half of 2025 to $1,811 million in the first half of 2026 as it funded capital spending with debt, and that this offering adds to it. The prospectus does not state a specific use of proceeds beyond the customary language.

Corrections

  1. Removed an unverified federal-funds benchmark and an all-in CoreWeave rate calculated using an unmatched SOFR benchmark. Coupon differences do not isolate credit pricing.

Verify this yourself

5 sources

The links below identify the filings, structured data, and other sources used in this article. Market data is labeled separately. Calculated figures use the inputs and expressions explained in the article; a source link alone does not independently verify every calculation.

  1. Alphabet Inc. — Free writing prospectus (pricing term sheet), August 6 2026Every tranche, coupon, yield, spread, offering price and underwriting discount quoted hereOPEN ↗
  2. Alphabet Inc. — Form 8-K, filed August 10 2026Items 8.01 and 9.01 · the closing of the offeringOPEN ↗
  3. Alphabet Inc. — SEC EDGAR filing history (CIK 0001652044)The 424B5 and 424B2 prospectus supplements filed 6 and 7 August 2026OPEN ↗
  4. Advanced Micro Devices — Form 8-K, filed August 17 2026The AMD coupons used in the comparison, including 5.500% due 2036OPEN ↗
  5. SEC company concept API — Alphabet, InterestExpenseNonoperatingQuarterly interest expense of $34M, $261M, $533M and $1,278M across the four quarters to June 2026OPEN ↗

Data as of Aug 24, 2026 · figures may be restated by the issuer after this date

Found a number that doesn't match the filing?Confirmed corrections are published on the corrections log, with the date and what changed.

This article is for informational purposes only and is not investment advice. Sources and data dates are listed below; reported figures may be restated later. Verify independently before making any investment decision.